Skip to content


Nauru is a country located in the South Pacific Ocean. It is an island nation located about 2,000 miles northeast of Australia. The capital city of Nauru is Yaren District, which is located in the central part of the island. The official language of Nauru is Nauruan, and the currency is the Australian dollar.

Nauru has a tropical climate with high temperatures and humidity throughout the year. The country is prone to tropical cyclones and is vulnerable to the impacts of climate change, including rising sea levels.

The population of Nauru is around 11,000 people. The majority of the population is of Nauruan descent, and the official language is Nauruan.

Nauruan cuisine is influenced by the country’s location in the Pacific Ocean and its history of contact with other cultures. Staples of the Nauruan diet include taro, breadfruit, and bananas, as well as fish and coconut.

The majority of the population of Nauru is Christian, with about 60% belonging to the Nauru Congregational Church and 30% belonging to the Roman Catholic Church. There are also small communities of other religious groups in Nauru, including Baha’is and Seventh-day Adventists.