Skip to content


Guyana is a country located on the northern coast of South America, bordered by Venezuela to the west, Brazil to the south and Suriname to the east. The capital and largest city is Georgetown. The official language is English and the currency is the Guyanese dollar. The government is a presidential representative democratic republic, with the President as the head of state and government. The current President is Irfaan Ali.

Guyana has a rich history, first settled by the indigenous Arawak and Carib people prior to the arrival of Europeans in the late 15th century. The country was later colonized by the Dutch and British, and gained independence from Britain in 1966.

Guyana is known for its natural beauty, including its rainforests, beaches, and wetlands, as well as its rich culture, particularly its music, dance, and festivals, such as the Guyana Mashramani and the Guyana Cultural Festival.

The economy of Guyana is based on agriculture, mining, and services. The country is a major producer of agricultural products such as rice, sugar, and seafood. It is also known for its rich mineral resources, including gold, bauxite, and diamonds. The service sector, including tourism and financial services, is also an important contributor to the country’s GDP.

The population of Guyana is around 786,000 people, and is composed of a mix of different ethnic groups, with the majority of people being of East Indian, Afro-Guyanese and Indigenous descent. English is the official language, but many people also speak Creole and other languages such as Hindi, Portuguese and Chinese. The country has a diverse religious structure with a large number of Christians, as well as followers of other religions such as Hinduism, Islam, and Rastafarianism.