Skip to content

El Salvador

El Salvador is a country located in Central America, bordered by Honduras to the north and Guatemala to the west. It also has a coastline on the Pacific Ocean. The capital and largest city is San Salvador. The official language is Spanish and the currency is the Salvadoran colón. The government is a presidential representative democratic republic, with the President as the head of state and government. The current President is Nayib Bukele.

El Salvador has a complex history, marked by political turmoil, civil war, and foreign intervention. The country gained independence from Spain in 1821 and has since been ruled by a number of different governments. In the 1980s, the country was plunged into a civil war, which lasted until the 1990s, when a peace agreement was reached. Since then, the country has been working to rebuild and develop its economy and infrastructure.

El Salvador is known for its natural beauty, including its beaches, volcanoes, and rainforests. The country also has a rich culture, particularly its music, dance, and festivals, such as the Festival de la Primavera and the Festival de la Palabra.

The economy of El Salvador is based on services, agriculture, and manufacturing. The service sector, including banking and tourism, is the largest contributor to the country’s GDP. Agriculture is also an important sector, with coffee, sugar, and fruits being the main crops. Manufacturing includes the production of textiles, food processing, and construction materials.

The population of El Salvador is around 6.5 million people, and is composed of a mix of different ethnic groups, with the majority of people being of mixed indigenous, European, and African descent. Spanish is the official language, but many people also speak indigenous languages such as Nahuatl and Pipil. The country has a diverse religious structure with a large number of Catholics, as well as followers of other religions such as Evangelicals and Jehovah’s Witnesses.