Skip to content


The Union of the Comoros is an island country located in the Indian Ocean, off the coast of East Africa. The country is made up of three main islands: Grande Comore, Moheli, and Anjouan. The official language is Comorian and the currency is the Comorian franc. The Union of the Comoros has a federal presidential Islamic republic form of government, and the current President is Azali Assoumani.

The Comoros has a developing economy based on agriculture, fishing and tourism. The country is known for its diverse culture, with many ethnic groups, traditional music and dances, and its unique blend of African, Arabic, and Malagasy influences. The country also has a rich biodiversity and several protected areas such as the Hahaia Marine National Park and the Dziani Boundouni National Park. The capital and largest city is Moroni, located on the island of Grande Comore, known for its historic sites such as the Grand Mosque and the Royal Palace.